The short answer
Ipamorelin is sold as research-grade material. Its one controlled human trial didn't meet its main goal. No approved human use appears in the record.
Everything else is animal or lab-dish work. A result in an animal isn't a result in a person. We match fifteen claims or fewer to the record, and we recommend none of them.
In short: the human trial is done, and it didn't work out.
What happened in the human trial?
There's one human trial on record. It was a phase 2 randomized, double blind, placebo controlled study in people who'd had bowel surgery. It aimed to speed recovery of gut function, measured as time until they could manage a standard solid meal. It didn't meet that goal.
Where did that come from? The wave 5 task packet supplied the result with an identifier. We checked it against the original source through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-09-13. We don't print effect sizes or statistics, because we're not allowed to.
More on the human chapter that closed. The trial record itself is PubMed 25331030.
In short: trial done, main goal not met.
Every claim, and where it stands
[ six columns, scroll the panel sideways for the source cell ]
| # | Claim brought to the file | Highest model on the record | What that model reported | File status | Source, read date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ipamorelin works in people. | human RCT | The one controlled human test on the record did not meet its primary endpoint. | closed, endpoint not met | PubMed 25331030, verified 2026-09-13; registered as NCT00672074 and NCT01280344, read 2026-09-05 |
| 4 | Ipamorelin speeds gut recovery after surgery. | human RCT | The phase 2 test in bowel resection patients did not meet its primary endpoint; an earlier rat postoperative ileus model reported improved transit. | closed, endpoint not met | PubMed 25331030, verified 2026-09-13; PubMed 19289567, read 2026-09-05 |
| 2 | Ipamorelin releases growth hormone. | animal and in vitro | In swine, rats and rat pituitary cells it released growth hormone without meaningfully raising ACTH or cortisol; direction improved. | animal only | PubMed 9849822, read 2026-09-05 |
| 3 | Ipamorelin protects muscle and bone. | animal | In glucocorticoid treated rats, calf muscle tetanic tension and periosteal bone formation improved. | animal only | PubMed 11735244, read 2026-09-05 |
| 9 | Ipamorelin plus a second secretagogue is proven. | review | A review reports a murine co administration study with improved tetanic tension, limited to animal studies, and that primary study is not a record in the file. | animal only | PubMed 41476424, read 2026-09-05 |
| 6 | Ipamorelin is proven safe in humans. | review | Reviews state rigorous human safety data are scarce and long term risks are poorly defined. | no human outcome | PubMed 41966639, PubMed 42578445 and PubMed 41880199, read 2026-09-05 |
| 5 | Ipamorelin is approved for something. | review | No approved human use of ipamorelin appears in the record; reviews group it among unapproved peptides sold outside regulatory oversight. | no approved use | PubMed 41966639, read 2026-09-05 |
| 7 | Ipamorelin is fine to use in sport. | in vitro | The record carries anti doping detection work naming ipamorelin and carries no prohibited list classification for it this desk can cite. | not on file | PubMed 27497113 and PubMed 29864719, read 2026-09-05 |
| 8 | There is a purity figure I can check for ipamorelin. | vendor document | Peptara Labs lists ipamorelin only inside a combination SKU and publishes no standalone per lot certificate figure for it. | not on file | FACTS.md 1e and 1j, read 2026-09-07 |
Column five is the point of this table. The other columns just show where each verdict came from: a named record and the date we read it.
A row marked closed or not on file isn't a weak row. It's the most useful one, because it tells you plainly that a claim you came in with isn't backed by the record.
The number in column one is just a label so we can refer to a row. It's not a rank.
Rows are grouped by column five in this order: closed endpoint not met, animal only, no human outcome, no approved use, not on file. Within each group, the most common claims come first.
Every record, one by one
Below the claims is the full evidence table. The two finished phase 2 registrations and the observational one report no result, so their direction reads not reported. The human trial that missed its goal is covered above and on the human chapter that closed.
[ five columns, scroll the panel sideways for the full row ]
| Record identifier | Year | Model | Endpoint on the record | Direction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PubMed 9849822 | 1998 | animal | Growth hormone release and selectivity in rats and swine, and in rat pituitary cells in vitro | improved |
| PubMed 11735244 | 2001 | animal | Maximum tetanic tension of calf muscle and periosteal bone formation in glucocorticoid treated rats | improved |
| PubMed 15665799 | 2004 | in vitro | Insulin secretion from pancreatic tissue of normal and diabetic rats | improved |
| PubMed 19289567 | 2009 | animal | Gastrointestinal transit, fecal output, food intake and body weight in a rat postoperative ileus model | improved |
| PubMed 27497113 | 2017 | in vitro | Stabilization of urine samples against enzymatic breakdown of small peptides including ipamorelin, for doping control | improved |
| PubMed 29864719 | 2018 | in vitro | Identification of black market growth hormone releasing peptide analogues including a glycine variant of ipamorelin | not reported |
| PubMed 32257855 | 2020 | review | Growth hormone secretagogues for body composition in hypogonadal males | review |
| PubMed 32801950 | 2020 | animal | Visceral hypersensitivity and somatic mechanical allodynia in rats | improved |
| PubMed 39043357 | 2024 | animal | Cisplatin induced weight loss and emesis in ferrets, and contractions of isolated ferret ileum | mixed |
| PubMed 41476424 | 2026 | review | Peptide therapy evidence for orthopaedic injury and sports performance | review |
| PubMed 41490200 | 2026 | review | Therapeutic peptides as adjuncts in orthopaedic injury care | review |
| PubMed 41880199 | 2026 | review | Peptide and peptide analogue use in sport and bodybuilding, risks and detection | review |
| PubMed 41966639 | 2026 | review | Approved and unapproved peptide therapies for musculoskeletal injuries and athletic performance | review |
| PubMed 42578445 | 2026 | review | Six emerging peptides for musculoskeletal recovery in animal and human models | review |
| ClinicalTrials NCT01280344 | not reported | human RCT | Recovery of gastrointestinal function after surgery, and safety | not reported |
| ClinicalTrials NCT00672074 | not reported | human RCT | Management of ileus after surgery, and safety | not reported |
| ClinicalTrials NCT07717866 | not reported | human observational | Not stated in the record | not reported |
We read each record above on its own at the record, filed by model and status.
In short: the closed trial leads the table, and the missing purity figure closes it.
Who is Peptara Labs?
What is Peptara Labs?
In its own words, Peptara Labs is a research-grade peptide supplier and education resource. It lists sixteen research-grade products. We repeat its own description and add nothing to it.
In short: this comes from the supplier's own pages.
What do the animal studies show?
They show directions only, so we mark them animal only. Here's what they found:
- In swine, rats and rat pituitary cells, ipamorelin released growth hormone without meaningfully raising ACTH or cortisol.
- In rats given glucocorticoids, calf muscle tetanic tension and periosteal bone formation improved.
- In a rat model of gut slowdown after surgery (postoperative ileus), transit improved.
- In a ferret model, results were mixed.
A result in an animal isn't a result in a person, and we never let one stand in for the other. Each record is on the record, filed by model and status.
In short: animal only, nothing confirmed in people.
Is ipamorelin approved for anything?
No approved human use appears in any record in either of our research packs. The reviews that mention it group it with unapproved peptides sold outside regulatory oversight. That's an absence in a named set of records, not a claim about the whole world. More on the approval that is not there.
In short: no approved use on record.
Is it allowed in sport?
Anti doping researchers have built detection methods that name ipamorelin, so it's on their radar. But we have no citable source for a banned list classification. So we report the detection work and leave the classification out until we can cite it. More on the sport record on file.
In short: detection work yes, classification not on file.
What can you actually check as a buyer?
Links to Peptara Labs are affiliate links, and we may earn a commission when you buy through them.
The material is sold as research-grade lab stock. The supplier says its batches are tested by Titreon Analytical, a third-party lab whose quality system is aligned to ISO/IEC 17025:2017, not itself accredited. Identity is checked by HPLC and LC-MS, and purity by HPLC against a published release criterion.
Here's the gap: there's no standalone per lot certificate figure for ipamorelin. It only appears inside one combination research-grade product, and none of the lots the supplier publishes with a purity figure is ipamorelin. Row 8 above shows this.
More on what a buyer can verify. The supplier's certificate index is the certificate index.
In short: no purity figure on file for this compound.
What does Peptara Labs sell?
What does Peptara Labs sell?
Peptara Labs lists sixteen research-grade products. Ipamorelin isn't sold on its own. It only appears inside one combination research-grade product, and we don't name the other compound in it.
In short: this is the catalogue as the supplier lists it.
How do we work?
We use five verdicts, and no others: closed endpoint not met, animal only, no human outcome, no approved use, and not on file. A cell gets filled only from a named record, dated with the day we read it.
Record types are human RCT, animal, in vitro, review, registered study with no result, vendor document, and none. Corrections go through the contact page, and a row changes only when a named record changes it.
The full method is on the record, filed by model and status.
In short: method published, corrections welcome.
What does research framing mean here?
Every entry shows the kind of evidence behind it, and stops there. An animal or lab-dish result stays exactly that. It never becomes a result in a person. Material sold for research is described as material sold for research.
We name no benefit the record doesn't support. We give no advice, and we don't ask you to do anything.
To say it once, in full: we publish no instructions of any kind, no amounts, no schedules and no procedures. We read the record, and we don't tell anyone to get anything.
In short: not instructions, not advice.
Your questions, answered
Where do you actually buy ipamorelin?
Ipamorelin is sold as research-grade lab material, not as an approved medicine, since no approved human use appears in the record. The only thing you can check before buying is what a seller has already published.
For this compound, the supplier in our network publishes no standalone per lot certificate figure. We didn't pull search results for this phrase, so we rank no vendor and show no seller table.
More on what a buyer can verify.
Did ipamorelin pass its human trial?
No. The one controlled human trial was a phase 2 randomized, double blind, placebo controlled study in people after bowel surgery. It aimed to speed recovery of gut function and didn't meet its main goal.
The task packet supplied the result with an identifier, and we checked it against the original source through NCBI E-utilities on 2026-09-13. We print no effect size or statistics.
Source: the trial record, PubMed 25331030. More on the human chapter that closed.
Does ipamorelin have an approved human use?
No approved human use appears in any record in either of our research packs.
The reviews that mention it group it with unapproved peptides sold outside regulatory oversight. That's an absence in a named set of records, not a claim about the whole world.
Source: PubMed 41966639. More on the approval that is not there.
What do the ipamorelin studies actually report?
Mostly animal work, plus one human trial that missed its goal. In swine, rats and lab dishes it released growth hormone. In rats given glucocorticoids, muscle and bone measures improved.
In a rat model of gut slowdown after surgery, transit improved. In ferrets, results were mixed. The one human trial didn't meet its goal. An animal result isn't a result in a person.
Sources: 9849822, 11735244, 19289567, 39043357. More on the record, filed by model and status.
Is ipamorelin allowed in sport?
We can't cite a banned list classification for ipamorelin. What the record does have is anti doping detection work that treats it as a target.
Detection studies name it directly, and a 2026 critical review of peptides in sport discusses how hard detection is. The one regulator source for the classification is on our do not cite list, and neither sport review in our pack states it. So we leave it out until we can cite it.
Sources: 27497113, 29864719 and 41880199. More on the sport record on file.
What purity figure is published for ipamorelin?
None we can print. Peptara Labs only lists ipamorelin inside one combination research-grade product. None of the lots the supplier publishes with a purity figure and certificate number is this compound. So we print no purity number.
We won't borrow one from the combination product or a brand average either, because a figure from a different lot is about something else.
Figures for the compounds that have them are on the certificate index, peptaralabs.io/coa. More on what a buyer can verify.
Who tests Peptara Labs peptides?
One lab. The certificates page names Titreon Analytical as its tester, a third-party lab whose quality system is aligned to ISO/IEC 17025:2017, not itself accredited. We keep that qualifier whole.
Source: the certificate index.
Does Peptara Labs publish certificates of analysis?
Yes. Certificates are published on its certificates page, along with some bacterial endotoxin reports from a second outside lab. What matters here: none of those second-lab reports covers ipamorelin, and no standalone certificate figure for it sits among the published lots.
Source: the certificate index.
Are Peptara Labs peptides research grade, and what is the guarantee?
Yes, research grade in the supplier's own words. It offers a 60 day money back guarantee on verified purity, certificate of analysis and fulfillment. That's a quality guarantee, never a health outcome guarantee.
In plain terms, it says it's not a medical provider. It treats no patients, writes no prescriptions, runs no one's care, promises no health outcome, and calls its material research grade rather than an approved drug.
Source: the trust page. More on who keeps this file.
Where is the ipamorelin research filed on this site?
Every ipamorelin record we hold is sorted by study type and verdict on the record page. That runs from animal and lab-dish work to the one controlled human trial, which didn't meet its main goal. Each row links its source, and an animal result stays an animal result.
Does this file name an ipamorelin vendor?
We name one supplier, Peptara Labs. We cite it for its published testing method and certificate index, not as a ranked vendor for this compound.
Ipamorelin only appears inside one combination research-grade product, and no standalone per lot certificate figure for it is published. We pulled no search results for this phrase, so we rank no vendor and show no seller table.
In short: each answer stops where its record stops.
Where is Peptara Labs based?
Where is Peptara Labs located?
Peptara Labs says it's registered in Wyoming, United States, with its business address in Sheridan, Wyoming. It says it has offices in the United States and Vietnam. That's its statement. We haven't visited.
In short: the location is the supplier's own statement.